Please stick to the rivers and the lakes like you used to.

Posted: February 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

ed-fairburn-2

QUINN   Luxury is a fool’s compensation.  But unlike most of you idiots, I expect to get paid today.

A TANTRUM OF CLOWNS (Aborted play I wrote circa 2006)

It’s become glaringly apparent to me that the longer I go without writing here (or even tweeting for that matter), the more people automatically assume the worst.  Yeah, I totally get it.  I’ve spawned a baby monster.  Something completely dependent on me that must be fed and tended to or will start roaring maniacally…

Maybe this is a good thing.

So where do I even begin?  I was discharged from Swedish on Thursday.  The recovery, however, has been ongoing.   Some of it has been so abrasive and unpleasant that the idea of writing about it seems like devouring thumbtacks or reliving Chinese water torture.  Also, writing and consistently blogging about my health, while informative to the people I love and are invested in my recovery seems 100% counterintuitive now that I’m actually feeling better, so forgive me if it’s the last thing I want to do right now.

Instead I’m going to post photos of waterfalls…

Image

Image

Image

I took these with the new Canon Powershot I got over Christmas.  I’m no photographer, but it’s a GREAT camera — I don’t care what anyone says!  Dad and I drove to Snoqualmie Falls over the weekend, which we’ve been meaning to do for weeks now and proved to be completely worth the acrophobia-inducing drive, even if I could barely sustain enough breath to climb the stairs to the viewing deck.

But I did, and that was two days ago.  And two days can seem like an awfully long time, don’t you think?

Let’s just see what the next two days bring… I am finally looking forward to seeing how it unfolds myself.

Comments
  1. Anonymous says:

    Hot pix!

    • Nicole says:

      Oops that was me btw 🙂

    • Elena says:

      The month of October has been designated as Domestic Violence Awareness Month. This month we honor the sincafigint work that has been done to reduce domestic violence and recommit ourselves to its end.The following are events held by the YWCA Northeast Indiana in observation of DVAM (for more information or to participate, please contact Steve Miller at ):“Flowers on the River” is the opening event for Domestic Violence Awareness Month in October. Each flower thrown onto the river symbolizes a life that has been affected by domestic violence. Participants gather at the YWCA on Spy Run Avenue at 5:00 pm and walk together to the bridge at 5:15. (Monday, October 1, 2012)“Chalk it Up to Awareness” is an initiative of YWCA Northeast Indiana for which colleges or businesses use colored chalk to create sidewalk billboards to raise awareness about domestic violence. (October 8-12, 2012)The National and local goals of the “National Week Without Violence” is to create awareness, remember victims, and speak out against violence in all its forms. (October 15-19, 2012)In celebration of the National Week Without Violence, schools and libraries throughout the area will gather for “Peace Story Time”, to read stories about and educate children on domestic violence. (October 15-19, 2012)Presentation of YWCA Hope Awards: Each day this week, the YWCA Northeast Indiana will select and recognize a recipient from each of the five categories: Domestic Violence, Empowerment of Women, Racial Justice, Junior Hope Award, and Child Advocacy. (October 22-26, 2012)

Leave a Reply

