Dance Me To The End of Love

Posted: February 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

This is my favorite Leonard Cohen song. I discovered so many of his records in college that like most of you I sort of feel that I’ve heard it all. I even have my own Leonard Cohen protagonist or muse as it were, which is more like a Leonard cohen “feeling.” They elicit vignettes. In this one, I imagine a woman has accidentally stepped into a puddle with a dead gecko. She folds the tangerine peel around his body like boat, then sends it floating down a raingutter. That’s my Leonard Cohen protagonist. Someone who is constantly modulating between the cinematic mystery they wish they are living, while knowing that deep in beyond their artifices of love and strength, they will never completely shield the sting of heartbreak.

The only answer, therefore, is promiscuous sex. But you already knew that.

And who can forget Madeleine Peyroux’s slightly bouncier, but lusty cover made a few years ago…

Finally, my friend Martha in her rendition of The Tower of Song.

It will be nice to leave here on Monday and sort of pretend like none of it ever happened. A person needs to do that for their own good sometimes, don’t you think? I mean, I have a LOT of dignity, but I believe my wine cellar is empty.

Leave a Reply

